There’s a hole in the bowl, Dear Liza.

This project was doomed from the start. I wanted to try out the larger felted bowl pattern with the smaller yarn/needles. Things were going great until I popped the WIP in my tote bag for the road trip to see Josh Blue. My stitches fell off the needles but I caught it in time before it was a lost cause. One stitch was switched around and I didn’t catch it until about three rows up; I was not going back. I figured that since I was felting it anyway that it wouldn’t be noticeable. Then I began running low on yarn. Then I found a huge knot where the yarn had been tied together in production. I left it because there were no ends hanging out and I was going to be felting it anyway.

Finally I get to the felting process…… and when I pulled it out of the washer to check it, I found this.

Grrrrr….. That hole is big enough to stick my finger through.  I thought I had anchored the end in enough but I guess I didn’t. At that point it was too late to fix so I just plopped it back in the machine and finished the felting. There is so many things wrong with this project that I’m just going to keep it for my own use so I don’t feel like I’ve completely wasted yarn. Maybe I’ll put a clever patch in the bottom of the bowl; who knows it could turn into something completely wonderful. The rest of the bowls will be for sale in the Winter Bazaar at the Appalachian Arts Center starting in November.

Oh yeah, I made this using Knit Pick’s Wool of the Andes in Amethyst.

2 thoughts on “There’s a hole in the bowl, Dear Liza.

Leave a Reply

