Girl Scouts

This year I’m volunteering as an Assistant Troop Leader for the Junior Girl Scouts. My Sis-in-law is the main troop leader. So far we’ve had an informational meeting and our initial meeting that was kind of crazy because we were still trying to take care of the paper work end of things. Tonight was our first “real” meeting. We had several group discussions for the Pet Care badge. We also started the Fall Nut Sale. I had the girls sing the Gray Squirrel song since all the sale incentives are little squirrels. The girls had a lot of fun and really got into the discussion. All the girls were eager to give their input.

I don’t have kids. I don’t plan to have kids; at least not anytime soon. Being a asst. troop leader is already being rewarding to me. I’m not around kids often (with the exception of my nieces) so sometimes I don’t know how to talk to them or know how they will act. The girls really seem to like me. I’m having a lot of fun. These girls amaze me. I was really really freaking scared that things would just be crazy but it’s not as bad as I thought it would be. I’m looking forward to the next meeting.

(photo found on a google search)

One thought on “Girl Scouts

  1. How cool that you’re volunteering. Kids kind of make me nervous, too. I’ve noticed however, that they are mostly easy going and accepting, and that is pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

