Hoooooo Whaaaaaa! (and other band geek cheers)

My momma does read my blog! 😀 I made this post a couple of weeks ago and today my wonderful mom (and best friend) brought me these goodies! Link & Link. When I made the handmade pledge last month, I hoped this would extend to anyone who may give a gift to me as well (I’ve been emphasizing the handmade thing to everyone). Both of these fit with the pledge – Hurray!!

The fantastic super duper soft roving is so much more than I expected. I really didn’t think that 4.5 oz was really that much but I’m blown away by how much wool it is. I’m ecstatic and can’t wait to get home tonight and start spinning this baby up. The colors are so beautiful in person. I got a freebie gift of some non-dyed Blue Faced Leicester roving as well – which is dreamy creamy yummy soft. Now I’m not sure which I prefer merino or the BFL. I also got an excellent roving postcard as a freebie.

I’m impressed with the drop spindle too. I really didn’t expect it to have such a large whorl (I think that’s what it’s called). The ones that I’ve seen photos of are only a bit over an inch & a half to two inches wide. This one is 3.5 inches.

I’m having a great mail day today too! My copy of KnitKnit finally arrived. I won a $20 Amazon gift card from Jennifer Estep’s contest she had earlier in the month and I just had to order it. I also ordered a copy of Jennifer Estep’s Hot Mama but it hasn’t arrived yet.

 

I will post some photos of all this when I get home this evening – I’m on the job at the moment and don’t have my camera with me.

EDIT: As promised here are the pics!
I used my drop spindle to ply these two yarns together. I wanted to get a feel for the thing before diving into the yummy roving. The purple is a recycled acyclic and the blue is 25% mohair and the rest acrylic/nylon. I really like how it turned out. I think I will call it Sugar Plum Fairy though I’m not sure what I will make with it yet.

Sugar Plum Fairy Yarn

D

This is an up close shot of the roving 😀
Beautiful Roving!

Leave a Reply

