Kidmade Playdoh

I loved Playdoh as a kid. As any typical kid, I would often leave my Playdoh out and it would dry out. We lived in the middle of nowhere and I’m sure mom was tired of spending money on true Playdoh so we would make it. When I was younger, mom would have to help me but as I got older, I was able to make it myself. The thing I really liked about making my own Playdoh is that I could make a whole lot of it in any color or colors that I wanted. This is similar to the recipe that we used:
Materials
· 1 cup water
· 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
· 1/2 cup salt
· 1 tablespoon cream of tartar
· Food coloring
· Saucepan
· 1 cup flour
Directions
1. Combine water, oil, salt, cream of tartar, and food coloring in a saucepan and heat until warm.
2. Remove from heat and add flour.
3. Stir, then knead until smooth. The cream of tartar makes this dough last 6 months or longer, so resist the temptation to omit this ingredient if you don’t have it on hand.
4. Store this dough in an airtight container or a Ziploc freezer bag.
This is not the exact recipe that my mom used, I don’t remember using vegetable oil. I know that it did use cream of tartar. There are many different versions of homemade playdoh, including an edible one made from peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

