Venturing into a new year…

The new year brings on the dreaded resolutions (mine rarely adhere) and look back at the previous year.  Last year, my resolution was to draw something everyday even if it is just a doodle.  I made it to late February then it kind of just died off. 

2007 treated me well.  I feel like I’m gaining my footing as an artisan but at the same time I feel like there is so much more to learn and do.  I still need to find my niche but I don’t want to be pigeon holed into the first thing that seems to catch.

My resolution this year is to treat my craft(s) as a second job.  This means that I’m going to have set times that are my “studio time”.  I’m going to keep track of my time on a time sheet so I know how much “wages” I should be factoring into whatever I’m making.  I’m going to keep track of my “business expenses” by keeping my receipts in a box.  Last, I’ll TRY to keep my studio more organized…. if it is possible…. which is probably a big fat NO.

At the moment, Sundays and possibly a weekday evening are going to be my set work hours.  This doesn’t include the business end, which is listing on Etsy, packaging and shipping, taking my stuff to the AAC, and whatever else businessy needs to be done.  I’m hoping to attend a few craft fairs this year – As a vendor!  At the moment I don’t have enough “stock” to justify doing even a small fair but hopefully if I work it as a job then I’ll be ready when the fair season hits.  Another goal is to have all my Christmas type items (not including gifts) finished by August.

Every other Monday is Girl Scouts, Wednesday is quilting class, every other Saturday is band practice, and I’m embarking on yet another tax season which means later hours and some Saturdays at the office.  I hope I can stick to this…  I know I can… It’s just going to take dedication.

Leave a Reply

