First Machine Pieced Quilt Square

Tonight’s class was so much fun! Since I wasn’t tired things went much better. Here are photos of my first machine pieced quilt square. Yea! The pattern is called Ohio Star.

DSCF1464

Close up… and it shows a bit of my mistake.

DSCF1466

As for now, my sewing machine and I are getting along much better. I’m trying to name her, so far Helga has been working but I’m thinking of changing it to something else.

I stopped by my local fabric shop and picked up this fabulous fabric that I’ve been wanting for a few weeks now. I’m not sure what I want to do with it yet but I knew that I NEEDED it.

very adorable fabric

9 thoughts on “First Machine Pieced Quilt Square

  1. Hi !
    Nice choice of colors for your quilt : the orange fabric and the dark purple one really hit it off together ! I hope you’ll show us how it turns out.
    …and I’m also happy no to be the only one to actually name things 🙂 !

  2. Love, love, love the block and your other fabric, too! Great job. That orange really “pops” against the purples. I’ll can’t wait to see your finished quilt!

  3. Good luck with your quilt! Those “mistakes” are things that only you will notice. Trust me.

    LOVE LOVE LOVE that fabric with the little girls on it. I completely understand why you needed it.

  4. Your block is fantastic. If this is your first time piecing a block you did a wonderful job. Even if it isn’t your first time, the block looks fabulous. Don’t worry about the mistakes, we all make them. No one will notice them either.

    The colors are perfect. The orange and purple work so well together.

  5. Love the fabrics! I actually HAVE that purple fabric (in the center and the border) with the swirlies through it. I like the orange with the purple, adds a touch o’ whimsy! Congrats on your first machine square.

    Long ago I took a day class that did the same thing (made one square on a sewing machine). It was so much fun. At the time I had never sewn on a machine and did not own one myself. But it was such a great class and I had so much fun.

  6. p.s. Ditto on what bobbinhead said.

    NO ONE will notice those minute mistakes. I had to look twice to see where yours did not line up exactly. It’s awesome and you should be very proud.

  7. This looks GREAT! I agree, nobody will see those little mistakes. Just be like me and say that you gave it more character 😉 I’m excited to finally take a quilting class (soon I hope), are you liking yours?

  8. Lovely colours you’ve chosen for the block! The fabric you ‘needed’ (I know that feeling:)) is just gorgeous…can’t wait to see what it turns into 🙂

Leave a Reply

