Date Book

For almost 2 years, I’ve been a bookbinder… Until now, I have not made a book for myself. I’ve made books for the purpose of being sold, for other people, even
just to learn something new… but never for myself.
I used to be the kind of person that never needed a calendar book… maybe life was just too boring or maybe I just liked flying by the seat of my pants. Last year, I started using a freebie calendar book that I received at the office. It ran out in December and I’ve been lost since then.
Last night I put this beauty together. It is my first caterpillar or centipede stitch book. I’m really happy with it. 😀 The cover is a fabric that is an embossed faux leather. I stitched it together with waxed cotton thread. The paste-downs had to be something fun since I went with non-colorful but durable cover fabric. I printed enough pages that I should be able to use it for just a few days shy of two years.

My Date Book

My Date Book Back

My Date Book Pages

My Date Book Inside

My Date Book Front

5 thoughts on “Date Book

  1. Wow, that’s absolutely stunning. The embossed leather is beautiful.

    I’ve spent a lot of the morning reading your blog (and therefore not working, but oh well 🙂 ) and as a writer it is really wonderful to see how books can be such gorgeous objects.

    Have you read Inkheart, by Cornelia Funke? The main character is the daughter of a bookbinder, and the craft plays a big part in the story. You might like it.

  2. Wow! That is one great centipede on your book. That makes me want to immediately make another one. There is so much of interest to read on your blog, I’m so pleased I found it. Which happened on a very roundabout route starting at tj’s weekly challenges. I love to find other book binders/artists. Carol

Leave a Reply

