Grandma’s House

I had dinner tonight with my dad, grandma, and 2 of my uncles. Homemade Spaghetti and Meatballs…. yummy! I had such a good visit. My grandma told my dad earlier in the week that she was giving me her quilt rack but he couldn’t find it in the loft. My grandma is one that will not send you home empty handed. She sent me home with just about every sewing related thing she owns.

She had me bag up everything in her sewing chest which was a lot! This included a ton of thread, needles, gadgets, and a few crochet hooks (I was really excited about those).
Massive box of Sewing Supplies
Grandma's Sewing Supplies
Grandma's Sewing Supplies
Super Cool Gadgets

She also gave me this dress which she made some time in the late 60’s or early 70’s. It’s such a tiny dress. It’s hard to imagine my grandma being that small.

A dress made my grandma

The most awesome thing about today… She gave me her dress form. I could have cried. I’m so excited to have it!

My Grandma's Dress Form

****

On to something a little different…..

I started the quilting process. I’ve only gotten this small square done but I’m pleased with it.

The Start of the Quilting Process

3 thoughts on “Grandma’s House

  1. There’s nothing quite so wonderful as being given your mother’s or grandmother’s treasures. Mum has recently given me all her collection of embroidery silks, some 50 years old! I just can’t get enough of looking at them, and the crochet hooks that were hers and her mother’s – I just love them.

  2. What wonderful things to be gifted with…especially the dress form!!! I love old sewing/crochet/knitting tools…how lucky you are. Your quilting looks great too ^_^

  3. The supplies from Grandmoms are the best. My Grandmom gave me all of her crocheting supplies including all of her crochet books and magazines and I treasure them. When I use those supplies, they bring back some of the best memories. Also, you are coming along wonderfully with your sewing. Your love of sewing definitely shows through your work.

Leave a Reply

