Meringue Cookies

I made meringue cookies for the first time tonight… in fact it was actually the first time I’ve made meringue. I have seen it made before so I knew what to expect.

3 egg whites
1 c. sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

I whipped the egg whites until they were foamy. I slowly added the sugar and my mixer whip it until it was shiny and stiff. Then I folded the vanilla in. Spooned large blobs on to a pan and baked for 30-35 minutes in a 257 degree oven. I made 1/2 of the batch then added 1 tsp of raspberry extract and 2 drops of red food coloring and baked the rest.

I’m quite proud of these and they are delicious! I can’t believe they came out so well on my first attempt because I know that meringue can be difficult.

Vanilla Meringue Cookies
Raspberry Meringue Cookies

One thought on “Meringue Cookies

  1. So funny I came across this post in my tagsurfer. I just dumped a batch of meringue for a lemon icebox pie down the drain. I’d let a teeny bit of yolk escape into the whites and it all went to hell. I thought about trying to do meringue cookies in muffin tins, but figured they’d come out more like hocky pucks. The pie will get whipped cream instead tomorrow.

    Also, the best meringue cookies I had ever had a chocolate-rosemary topping drizzled on. Yum!

Leave a Reply

