Perfect September Evening

Have I mentioned how much I love September?  Today was perfect.  My morning scooter ride wasn’t too cold and my lunchtime scooter ride was wonderful.  Warm but not too hot and sunny with a warm breeze all day.

I rode up to the produce market and bought some fresh local grown corn & a tomato.  I also picked up a couple of apples but I’m not sure about where they were grown.  All for $3.00.  Seriously, that is an excellent price.  I would have bought more stuff but my scooter trunk will only hold so much.

Dinner was delicious.  Chicken thighs, fresh tomato, and a baked potato loaded up with butter, sour cream, cheddar, and onion followed by a slice of amish cinnamon bread.

Amish Cinnamon Bread

I checked on my veggies that are growing in (and out of) the flower boxes.  My pumpkins are doing well.  So far I have 4 growing.  Three that are all about the same size and one larger one that has started to turn orange.  I picked my first tomato.  The tomato bush is loaded down but this is the first that has ripened and it is HUGE.  It’s an old german plant and I can’t wait to eat it.  Funny enough, it’s exactly what I bought at the produce market this afternoon. I’m so proud of my little (super tiny) veggie garden. I don’t use any type of fertilizer, plant food, or chemicals on them. In fact I didn’t even stake my tomato plant and the pumpkins are a voluntary plant. I just like to let them be. Since the pumpkin came up due to us tossing the inside of our jack-o-lantern in the flower box, I’ve been randomly tossing veggies in the yard hoping that more will come next year.

Pumpkin

First Tomato 2008

I took Raisin on a walk while the sun was setting.  I took the camera in hopes of getting her reaction to the pumpkin on video.  No luck.  She usually freaks out and runs from it like it jumped out of the bushes at her and then timidly tries to inspect it by staying 3 feet from it and sticking her neck out really far.  She’s silly sometimes.  I did get this video of what she likes to do when we’re walking up on the hill.  She likes to walk along the rock wall top like a little kid would.  She jumped down part way through the video because a dog was barking across the street.  My video has no sound… silly camera records video but no sound.

For some reason, WordPress will not accept my code for my video so you can watch it from my Flickr page here.

I love the view we get on our walk. It’s surprising how much two blocks can make in the view here. The view from my porch is ok but not like this.

Sunset 9-4-08

While we were on our walk, I came upon this little plant.  I would love to know what it is.  Anyone care to tell me?

What are these?

Raisin is always such a happy pup after our walks. Sadly I haven’t been able to take her on many in the past 2 months. I’m hoping that now that things have calmed down a bit we can get back into the swing of walking every evening.

Raisin after our walk

I’m off to work on the monkey socks and watch the Project Runway that I recorded last night.

One thought on “Perfect September Evening

Leave a Reply

