WIP Wednesday

This past weekend we had a huge sale at A Likely Yarn to prep for our move. A very special person bought me enough yarn for a project, which I promptly cast on. I’m making the Siren Shawl from Knit Simple Spring/Summer 2007. I’m using Fibranatura’s Sea Song which is 80% pima cotton and 20% Seacell (kelp). It’s an easy four row pattern with a nine stitch repeat. I’m already on the second ball.

Siren Shawl WIP

Last night while poking through my stash, I came upon several balls (mostly half used) of sugar’n cream cotton that I had used to make some commissioned projects in the past. I decided that I need some new crochet dishcloths and got started. By the time I went to bed, I had already gone through three of the small balls. These aren’t going to match perfectly but they will still be useful. I also have three skeins of Solei that I bought at the sale to use for dishcloths as well though I’ll probably knit those instead of crochet.

Dish Cloth WIP

I’ve also cast on for another pair of socks. I started these last week by knitting from both ends of the ball but I didn’t like that the stripes weren’t lining up. I frogged them and rewound it on a ball winder so that things would line up. I’m making them with Trekking XXL in Circus.

Trekking XXL Toe Ups WIP

I’m still working on books. I’m starting to get to the panic stage because I have a huge festival coming up at the end of July that I’ll be at for five days. I don’t feel like I have enough stock for five days at the moment but I’m working hard to get some things going. I’m hoping to try some new things but I just keep thinking I only have TWO MONTHS to get everything together!! I’m also trying to find time and the right lighting to take photos to do a shop update with the books that I’ve already made.

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. Now that looks like a goodly amount of projects to get going. Maybe I’d like socks if I learned how to do two at a time.

    Do you work well with deadlines? I find that I work better right before the deadline and sometimes that pressure can produce much more than I thought I could.

    • Two at a time is the way to go with socks. Magic loop really isn’t hard once you get the hang of it and two circulars is pretty easy too. Cat Bhordi has some great youtube videos that could help you get started.

      I do work well with deadlines as far as getting the work done. I’ve been known to get a lot done in a short amount of time. Sometimes the stress can really get to me and then I become unpleasant to be around.

Leave a Reply

