Road Trip

Ok, ok, I know it’s friday and this post is supposed to be “Friday FO’s” but…. like I said on Wednesday, I feel like I’m treading water. I’ve gotten so much progress done this week, but I don’t have a single finished object to show for it.

I do, however, have a Road Trip story, short, but a story nonetheless.

I met my dear friend and LYS coworker this morning and headed to Penland School of Crafts. We hit the bookstore & coffee shop. I picked up some bookbinding supplies, had an amazingly delicious blackberry lime Italian soda and a giant peanut butter cookie, and bought a very cool postcard. We also took a look at a couple of the resident artist studios.

Penland School of Crafts

Penland School of Crafts

From there we headed into Asheville. I cradled & cuddled and ended up buying a skein of malabrigo sock yarn and lace at Yarn Paradise. We had lunch across the street which was delicious. Hamburger, feta potato salad, and pea salad.

Next was Bookworks. I Love Bookworks. For real, I could have drooled all over the equipment there. I wish it was closer to me or we had some place similar. The employee we met was so super friendly & helpful. I want to go back in September for Bookopolis.

Earth Guild was nice. I didn’t buy anything but I did drool all over some leather (ok not literally, but you know). The book selection was nice too. Across the street is True Blue Art Supplies which has a good selection of bookbinding supplies. I picked up a beautiful flocked deep purple damask paper that I really want to make something for myself out of. I also picked up another pretty Japanese paper.

Our last stop was at The Chocolate Fetish… ok, you may remember from some older posts that I do not at all like chocolate, so really, what was I doing in a chocolate shop? I ended up buying a white chocolate cashew frog, kind of like a turtle. It was delicious. The funny thing, Karen didn’t buy chocolate either!

The drive home was beautiful. I had not been on I-26 yet and it was an amazing view. Though I had my camera with me all day I only took the two photos at Penland. I instead knit away on the trekking xxl socks, which are almost complete and I’ve decided that they are to be knee socks.

It was a wonderful road trip with great places to visit, excellent weather, and the best company.

3 thoughts on “Road Trip

  1. That’s quite a day trip! I love driving around down there. It’s so beautiful and peaceful. Now I’m going to have to go on a quest for blackberry lime Italian soda.

Leave a Reply

