Virginia Highlands Festival Wrap-Up

Hooboy! Am I ever glad to be home! July 31-August 4 I spent my days at the Virginia Highlands Festival in Abingdon, VA. I woke every morning at 6:15, was out the door by 7:30, and at the festival by 8:30-8:45. The festival ran into the early evening and I would most of the time be home by 8:00. It was wonderful even with the commute, early hours, and very little sleep.

This is what my table looked like Tuesday afternoon (I kept forgetting my camera) and yes, that pole is right in the middle of my booth space and my table was pushed up against it. It didn’t seem to hinder any of the customers though so I didn’t mind it so much.

Virginia Highlands Festival Booth

Virginia Highlands Festival Booth

Virginia Highlands Festival Booth, with the pole

Friday was very rainy, probably some of the hardest rain I’ve been caught out side for luckily I was prepared for it. Saturday was the Celtic festival (yes that means men in kilts and no matter what I try I can’t convince my hubby to wear one) anyway… the Celtic festival meant that the craft portion of the festival would run until 7:30 instead of 6:00. It was sunny and there were a ton of people there so I was pretty exhausted by the time I got home. Sunday started out rainy but turned out to be quite lovely. Monday was sunny and crowded. Tuesday threatened rain but never did anything but it was terribly slow all afternoon.

I met wonderful people, both customers & vendors, and really enjoyed every minute I was there. What I saw a lot of from people who didn’t stop at my table but would kind of drift by; They would look, read my sign, get a funny confused look on their face and then walk away. Occasionally, one of the confused people would actually stop and ask what bookbinding was. So many people had never heard of bookbinding or didn’t understand what it is. Next year I’m going to try to have signs made up that explain a little about the process of making the books.

I ended up selling almost half of my inventory and came home with some wonderful items that I received from people who wanted to barter with me. It really touched my little heart that other vendors would want to give me their items in exchange for one of mine because they liked my work.

My goal is to have some of my items listed in the shop by August 15 and slowly try to get everything listed by the end of the month. In the meantime, I’m also working on a new line of books that meshes my fiber habit with my book passion. The line will be launched at a gallery show in mid September and will be available online sometime in October. *fingers crossed* So be on the look out for the shop updates. As for now, I’m returning to the regular schedule of blog post and knitting up a storm.

Leave a Reply

