Saturday Podcast Review – This American Life

Monday to Friday eight hours a day, I have an office job. I also have an hour-long drive to work on the weekends. That is a lot of silence to fill and I can only listen to music for so long before I get sick of the same songs over and over. Podcasts are an answered prayer. I’m reviewing some of my favorites to listen to so that others out there like me can check them out and maybe fall in love with them too. Most of the podcasts I listen to are knitting or craft related but not all of them. Some of them are well known and are listened to by thousands and others are just getting started or not as mainstream. Feel free to suggest other podcasts for me to check out and possibly review. Also, if you’re an avid podcast listener, please leave reviews on Itunes and let your favorites (or maybe not so favorites) know what you think.

This week’s podcast, like last week, is not a crafting podcast but one that is fantastic to craft by. This American Life was one of the first podcast I began listening to. I love the stories. They are detailed stories about anything and everything. Recently I listened an episode about people who live or have lived on bridges. It was something that I had never given though to, that people could actually live for an extended period of time on/in/under a bridge. One of my favorites was a story about a girl who worked at a large toy store that sold high end baby dolls and how the employees treated the store’s display baby doll. There was also an episode I really enjoyed where they tried to tell as many stories as possible within the hour show. There have been times that I’ve laughed uncontrollably and others that I’ve found myself moved to tears. This is my number one recommended podcast to anyone, not just crafters, please check it out.

2 thoughts on “Saturday Podcast Review – This American Life

  1. This is one of my favorite podcasts. If you haven’t checked out RadioLab also an NPR podcast you should.

Leave a Reply

