Paper Kitty’s Wellness Challenge for Craft Addicts

This morning I stepped onto the scale to realize that in 6 months I hadn’t lost one single pound. I’m not happy about it but I can see what I have been doing to keep myself this way. I’m simply not treating myself right.

I keep thinking about a comment I overheard during a class at the knitting retreat this past weekend. Someone was talking about knitting patterns should be friendlier to larger sizes because knitter in general are larger. To which someone else mentioned that knitting simply doesn’t burn many calories. This is very true. I have become content to say I’ll do X after just one more row/repeat/section only to find that *whoosh* the entire evening has passed and I’m still glued to my recliner.

Knitting, crochet, spinning, weaving, painting, cross-stitch, embroidery, quilting (I could keep going with this list but I’m sure you have other stuff you’d like to do today) are all very stationary activities. (And I use the word “activities” loosely) I for one am doubly doomed because not only do I have a laundry list of stationary crafts that I love to do but I also have a day job where I set at a desk ALL DAY.

Ok, I’m not vowing to run 5 miles a day or go to the gym everyday. Heck, I’m not even vowing to exercise everyday! I’m just here to say I’m going to be better to myself. What would happen if I got up every 30 minutes and did 25 jumping jacks, ran in place for five minutes, or *gasp* went outside, without my knitting even! I’m going to try. I’m going to set small goals. I’m not going to do something crazy like run out and sign a one year contract to a gym or swear to only eat salad for the next six months. I don’t expect to suddenly drop 50 pounds and be a size 4 and live happily ever after either. It may take me two years to reach a healthy weight range. After that, it’s going to be a rest of my life battle to keep myself there. I know my genetics and past history so I’ve already accepted that fact.

I keep thinking about Fly Lady emails that end with “You’re not behind, jump in where you are” and her motto of “You can accomplish anything in just 15 minutes a day” and I keep thinking about the Biggest Loser theme song “What have you done today to make you feel proud? It’s never too late to try.” Well, I have 15 minutes free somewhere in my day so I’m going to use it to make me the best me I can be. Because, let’s face it, if I’m not healthy I’m not happy. If I’m not happy then I’m not crafting and if I’m not crafting I’m probably vegged out in front of the tv and that is certainly not healthy… see full circle.

So this is me admitting that I’ve not been very good to myself. My guess is that there are many of you out there that don’t treat yourselves very well either. My challenge to you is to join me in a WELLNESS challenge – not a fitness challenge because there is so much more contributing to our wellness than our physical fitness. I’m not here to judge you on how much weight you lose. In fact I’m not here to judge you at all. I’m only challenging you to put down your craft for a few minutes a week and move around a bit, eat things that don’t make you feel like crap, and give yourself a big hug every day. You are awesome and creative and we’d like to keep you around for a while.

Do I expect you to follow every step I take? No. You need to find your own thing that works for you. We’re all different and what works for me may not work for you and vise versa. There’s no formal membership here. Join if you feel like it and if life throws you a curve ball come back when you’re able to. We won’t hold anything against you. Maybe you’re not ready to start right now. We’ll be here for you when you are; come join in when you’re ready.

How’s all this going to work?

Well, since I’m not asking you to lose as much weight as possible during a given period of time, it would be silly to offer prizes to who can lose the most weight. That’s certainly not what this is about. All I ask is that you comment on the weekly posts (right now I’m aiming for Thursday’s). Post about your small goal for the upcoming week, something you are thankful for this week, and a small report about how your previous week went – good or bad. From those comments (of all four weekly posts), I will pick one name at random (probably using a random number generator) to win the monthly prize. Be sure to include a way of contacting you in your post.

Who can join? Anyone… yea, yea, yea, I know that it says challenge for craft addicts up there in the title but I’m not going to tell someone they can’t participate just because they don’t make things. Yes, my focus is on crafters but we all need to be better to ourselves.

Um, Prizes, Did you say PRIZES??!?

Yes, your read that correctly, there will be prizes.

Each month I would like to spot light a different crafter in the giveaway. I want to not only inspire crafters to be healthy but I also want to celebrate what we do! I’ll start off the first month since this is just getting started and I hope to get a few volunteers. Giveaway contributors can be from any craft and you don’t need to be a Wellness Challenge participant. I’m more than willing to accept any prize donation. What I will need from you is a few good clear photos of your item, a description of the item, and a little background about you and your shop. Also please state whether or not you are willing to ship internationally. I will post the giveaway info each week so your item will be posted (usually) four times. I, of course, will not be eligible for the giveaway but should you feel the need to send me things, I won’t complain. LOL If you’d like to be a prize contributor, send me an email at paperkittyblog[at]gmail[dot]com

So now on to the things I wish I didn’t have to say but I do.

I am not asking or telling you to do anything you are not capable of. What you choose to do or not do is all you. Please ask your doctor before starting any diet or exercise program. I am merely giving you a journal of what I am doing and letting you know if it is or is not working for me. Remember, I am not you. I am not liable for what you choose to do.

I will not tolerate negativity and reserve the right to delete any post. I will not let comments attacking others be posted and will immediately delete them. This is supposed to be a positive and supporting environment; dramallamas best move along. Remember, if you don’t have anything nice to say about someone, don’t say anything at all.

Also, please remember that I am a mere mortal and life happens. I may miss a post here and there. There may be circumstances that could prevent me from posting for longer periods of time. If this happens, please forgive me and continue doing what you’re doing.

Ok, now that we’ve taken care of the nasty details… let’s get on to the first week’s post. This is going to be the general format, one fact, one motivational thing (quote, story, etc.), and one tip along with my goals & journal for the week:

WEEK ONE

Did you know that a 20 oz bottle of Coke has 240 calories? If you drink one a day, in a year that amounts to 87,600 calories! You would have to walk nearly 1,050 miles to burn those calories off. If you left NYC on your journey, you would have almost walked to Memphis, TN by the time you walked off those calories!!

This week’s quote: Rage Against The Machine – Guerrilla Radio – “It has to start somewhere, It has to start sometime, What better place than here, What better time than now?” (Ok, taken out of context but that is an awesome song to work out to)

This week’s tip: Write down everything you eat or drink. It will help pinpoint problem areas in your diet and can hold you accountable when you begin to wonder why the scale isn’t moving.

This month’s giveaway: One Crafty Kitten Recycled Mixed Paper Journal stamped with the word or phrase of your choice. (Try to keep it to letters only, I don’t own a number set yet)

My goal this week is to not drink soda. This is my one weakness and I know it is bad for me. Soda has no health benefits and can actually cause health problems.

This week I am thankful for my PUR water filter. I’m sure we’re going to become very good friends.

*********

See, it is as simple as that. Just a few short sentences. I’m not asking for big elaborate thankfulness statements or over the top goals. In fact, I don’t even want to know your long term big picture goal. We’re not here to focus on that. We’ll never get anywhere with that kind of pressure. Small steps to a bigger goal.

So tell me, what’s your small goal this week and what are you thankful for?

Oh, and please invite your friends and help spread the word 🙂

18 thoughts on “Paper Kitty’s Wellness Challenge for Craft Addicts

  1. This is exactly what I needed to read today!! Thank you!! I have been wanting to lose weight and get in shape for the past year and I’m found every excuse to not eat right or exercise. I am going to see how much weight I can lose by Aug. 24th. That is the day I make a trip back home to Oregon to see friends and family.

  2. I’m SO on board with this! I begin training for my annual 5k tomorrow. My goal for this week is to STICK WITH THE PROGRAM. I tend to rush it, then get injured, then quit. The program works – I know it does. Tomorrow I begin.

    I’d love to donate a prize for this, but it’ll take me a few weeks to get ready. I’ll let you know when I know more!

    Yeay!

  3. I am with you! I think this is great. My goal this week is not to eat the left overs off my kids plates. I catch myself doing this a lot.. “DS didn’t finish his PBJ well better polish that off” “DD didn’t eat her chicken nuggets.. well wouldn’t want those to go to waste” etc..
    I am thankful for summer with lots of oppotunitys to get outside and lots of yummy healthy fresh food.

  4. This is such a great idea. Good for you!!!
    And such a great 1st goal. Soda is SO bad for you! What a great way to start.
    I am thankful for my wonderful active family. My goal this week? To walk on my treadmill 3x a week. Eating isn’t too much of an issue- but exercise is a definite problem…

  5. Hurray!! Thanks Heather, Craftypancakes, Checat82 & Marguerite!

    Oh, and I’ve thought about knitting on the bike too… but I don’t have one and the folks at the free gym may give me some weird looks. LOL

  6. Very awesome idea!
    I have been keeping track of my eating off and on using dailyburn.com (used to be called gyminee). Generally, if I am eating fairly standard stuff I don’t bother entering it anymore. But I am grateful for websites like it where they make it easier to see what a serving is. Did you realize most cans of stuff is more than one serving? Like one can of Ravioli is actually 2 servings!!
    Anyways, I am very proud of myself for not going overboard with eating while I was on vacation last week.
    My goal for the upcoming week is to start rewarding myself and keeping track of my little wins. I’ve made my own chorewars group to do it.

  7. Good post, as this is about wellness and not just fitness my goal for the coming week is to get out each day. Even if it’s only to water the plants in the front garden.

  8. Hi! I’m in. My small goal this week is also going to be giving up soda. I had managed to get rid of it before but then it crept back in. I just made a big batch of lemonade (sugar free) so we’ll see how it goes. And I’m thankful for my boyfriend. He pretty much all over rocks.
    Oh and if anyone can use it – http://www.sparkpeople.com is a great site for tracking calories/foods/activities and has a ton of information. I lost quite a few pounds with them a few years back and was successful in keeping it off until I got lazy and stopped using it. I rejoined a few weeks ago so here’s to starting again!

Leave a Reply

