One more thing…

Well, its really more of an add-on to something I mentioned yesterday.

I recently bought Making Handmade Books: 100+ Bindings, Structures, & Forms by Alisa Golden and 365: A Daily Creative Journal: Make Something Everyday and Change Your Life by Noah Scalin. This got my little brain thinking. I don’t always have the time to make something daily but I usually have time to make something at least twice a week. I’m planning to work though Making Handmade Books (MHB) to expand my skills. There are many structures and bindings that I’ve used before but I tend to go back to my old faithful, the Coptic Stitch. I have other instructional books to play around with after I get though MHB too.

The first section of MHB is about folded books and I think I’ll be able to get though that chapter without even having to clean my studio. hehe!

I’ve also ordered 642 Things to Draw: Journal and I hope to get back in the groove of drawing daily. I attempt this every year but I always give up after about a month because I run out of ideas of what to draw. I’m hoping that with this book I’ll have something to inspire me when my own brain just can’t seem to find that something.

I have a few other books that are on my wish list right now. Drawing Lab for Mixed Media Artists by Carla Sonheim, Print & Stamp Lab by Traci Bunkers, Drawn to Stitch by Gwen Hedley, Pockets, Pull-Outs, and Hiding Places by Jenn Mason, and More Making Books By Hand by Peter & Donna Thomas. I’ll get them eventually but for now, I’ll just play with the ones that I already own.

Leave a Reply

